Second COE student receives SREB doctoral fellowship

Writer: Julie Sartor, 706/542-4693,
Published in LEAP, Press Releases, Student News


Tennille Lasker-Scott, a College of Education graduate student in adult education, has received a Southern Regional Education Board’s Doctoral Scholars Fellowship.

Lasker-Scott, a native of Conway, Ark., is a doctoral student in the College of Education’s department of lifelong education, administration, and policy. She is the second COE student to receive the prestigious fellowship. Monica Coleman, a graduate student in counseling, has also been awarded the fellowship.

Lasker-Scott serves as a graduate research assistant for the Institute for Continuing Judicial Education of Georgia, a resource consortium of the Georgia Judicial Branch, the State Bar of Georgia, and the four American Bar Association-accredited law schools of the state (Emory, Georgia State, Mercer and UGA). She previously worked as a project manager for the Arkansas Department of Community Correction.

Awardees must be in the first year of a Ph.D. program and a member of a racial or ethnic minority who plans to become a full-time college or university faculty member after earning a doctorate.

The award offers three years of direct program support and two years of institutional support from the scholar’s college, university and/or department, in the form of a $15,000-$20,000 annual stipend. Each recipient is also awarded up to five years of university-covered tuition and fees. The award also provides professional development support and covers expenses associated with attending the annual Compact for Faculty Diversity Institute on Teaching and Mentoring.

Juanita Johnson-Bailey, director of UGA’s Institute for Women’s Studies and a professor in the adult education program, will serve as Lasker-Scott’s faculty mentor for the SREB fellowship.

Lasker-Scott received her master’s degree in adult education in 2009 and bachelor’s degree in business administration with an emphasis in human resource management in 2006, both from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock.

< ?php wp_footer(); ?>